A Little South of Sanity| Released: 1998 | Geffen Records | Platinum |

  Disc 1:
1)  Eat the Rich
2)  Love in an Elevator
3)  Falling in Love (is Hard on the Knees)
4)  Same Old Song and Dance
5)  Hole in My Soul
6)  Monkey on my Back
7)  Livin' on the Edge
8)  Cryin'
9)  Rag Doll
10)  Angel
11)  Janie's Got a Gun
12)  Amazing
  Disc 2:
1)  Back in the Saddle
2)  Last Child
3)  The Other Side
4)  Walk on Down
5)  Dream On
6)  Crazy
7)  Mama Kin
8)  Walk this Way
9)  Dude (Looks Like a Lady)
10)  What it Takes
11)  Sweet Emotion

When Aerosmith returned to its original label in the '90s, there were still contractual obligations to Geffen, where they pulled a Lazarus and resurrected their moribund career in the mid-'80s. A LITTLE SOUTH OF SANITY completes the Geffen cycle and unlike most groups who toss together something in order to move on, Aerosmith took great care in compiling this 2-CD live collection that covers more than 25 years. Recorded during tours for GET A GRIP (1993-94) and NINE LIVES (1997-98), this release also marked a reunion with Jack Douglas, the band's producer during their '70s salad days, who helped the boys from Beantown compile the performances on this collection.

It becomes readily apparent here that Aerosmith still tore it up live regardless of how many power ballads they unleashed on radio since the late '80s. Of course, the Zippo-waving songs are here in abundance ("Crazy," "Angel") alongside ribald double-entendres ("Falling In Love [Is Hard On The Knees]") and vintage material ("Mama Kin"). If 1978's LIVE BOOTLEG gave us Aerosmith at their ripsnorting peak, then SANITY provides a reflection of a classic band that's aged gracefully without losing any of its spark.

Steven Tyler (vocals, percussion, harmonica);
Joe Perry (guitar, lap steel guitar, background vocals);
Brad Whitford (guitar);
Tom Hamilton (bass);
Joey Kramer (drums)

Additional personnel:
Thom Gimbel, Russ Irwin (keyboards, background vocals).

Recorded live between 1993 and 1998.

Album - Billboard (North America)

Year Chart Position
1998 The Billboard 200 12
1998 Top Canadian Albums 6


Bookmark and Share

Social Comments


CD Universe - New Release Music CDs up to 30% Off
Hosted by Chamberland Technologies
Privacy Policy